Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Need Guidance! (have budget and majority of desired parts)

• Please log in to reply

spoonmaster

spoonmaster

• Pip
  • 2 posts
Hi, I have no experience at all building computers and what Im looking for is a top of the line gamming machine my budget is around 2500 or higher and here are the parts im gonna get:

2 8800 gtx oc video cards
e6850 processor intel
1000watt power supply
4 1gb memory sticks
250gb hard drive
dvd drives
floppy drive
asus p5e motherboard (questionable)

the questions i have are:

is that motherboard compatible/great?

what size case i need ot get to fit everything?

what other parts i need to build a computer like heatsinks/fans?

and if you can provide a very noob friendly link to putting all of this/configuring everything so it works, thanks.

Advertisements

jackflash1991

jackflash1991

• PipPipPip
  • 610 posts
Where are you buying all of these parts? Newegg is a great place to buy the parts from. Could you send some links for all of the parts so we could take a better look on exactly what you are getting.

I would look into a better processor if you are willing to spend some more money. Like a quad core.

Also what OS are you gettting because Vista 32bit an only reconize up to ~3.25GB of RAM.

james_8970

james_8970

Trusted Tech

• Retired Staff
  • 5,084 posts
Wait till mid november to upgrade, nVidia is releasing a new board called the 780i and likely have PCIe 2.0 slots.