Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

f_panel

• Please log in to reply

yvain4

yvain4

• PipPip
  • 11 posts
Hello I'm in the middle of building my new pc.. Everything was going good til i hit the f_panel.. Now i'm new to this and the motherboard manual isnt telling me a thing i donno which way the wires plug in or where. also the power led pins there are 3 of them but the cable has two. I tried checking online for more info but no luck.. also how do i tell pos from neg on the wires? i hope someone can help me

motherboard
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16813128014

case
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16811119138

this is exactly what mine looks like evn though its a different model

Edited by yvain4, 09 November 2007 - 05:59 PM.

Advertisements

SRX660

SRX660

motto - Just get-er-done

• Technician
  • 4,345 posts
You did download the PDF manual from here, right?

http://www.gigabyte-...mp;FileID=17280

In the PDF it shows where you connect the wires from the front panel to the motherboard.

Looking at the motherboard the FP connectors are numbered from left to right like this

2-4-6-8-10-12-14-16-18-20
1-3-5-7- 9 -11-13-15-17-19

1 = hard drive light+
3 = Hard Drive light-

2 = power message light+
4 = Power message light-

5 = reset switch+
7 = reset switch-

6 = power switch+
8 = power switch-

If you have other wires from the front panel they are probably for USB front ports ( or Firewire ports) which connect to the USB connectors on the motherboard. They are in a different place than the FP connectors on the MB.