Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

My nano is not beign recognized by Win XP

• Please log in to reply

jjgii

jjgii

• Pip
  • 1 posts
I'm hoping someone knows how to get my computer to recognize my nano again. I have been using it on this computer for 3 years. No problems until yesterday. I do not often add musinc to so simply let the car charge it while I am driving. Wanted to add some new tunes so launched iTunes and it said there was an update. I took the update to 7.5 and now this little wonder is very confused. I can hear the ding-ding of the device being found but it does not show for more that 0.5 seconds in device manager. Never shows in Windows explorer and never in iTunes. If I "Reset" the unit with Select and Menu Buttons that does fix it. If I reset with Select and Menu buttons then hit Play and select to get it in disk mode Device Manager finds it and so does Windows Explorer. I "Eject" the "removeable disk"(aka iPod) and I am back to square one. Anyone? Anything?

Advertisements

pip22

pip22

Trusted Tech

• Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,663 posts
The iTunes update probably screwed it up. Uninstall iTunes completely, then grab an earlier version from here: http://oldapps.com/itunes.htm
(choose the version you had when it worked okay if it's listed).