Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Overnight vista "strangeness"

• Please log in to reply

bpotvin

bpotvin

• Pip
  • 2 posts
I am not a computer novice, but have a situation that I cannot figure out. Could use some help, please.
HP desktop computer running vista ultimate. Running great for 6 months (bought brand new at that time). No issues at all. OS fully up to date via windows update (always). Norton Internet Security in place, up to date, and fully operational. never had a virus or malware problem with this computer to-date.
Last saturday night something changed in the computer. Now it is doing 3 very strange things and I can't figure it out.
1. Windows media now comes up every time with error "Media sharing not available...". Goes into dialog to enable normal sharing. After that the program works great. I have worked on this issue considerably so far and cannot make this error go away each time Windows media is started. it's more annoying than anything but clearly indicates that something else is going on that I can't see (yet).