Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Disabled Administrator Access

• Please log in to reply

zestron

zestron

• PipPipPip
  • 323 posts
Suddenly, I don't have access to administrator things, like the Task Manager, or System Restore. I am an administrator though.
Help would be wonderful.

Posted Image

Posted Image
Posted Image

Advertisements

Ax238

Ax238

Tech Staff

• Technician
  • 1,323 posts
Hello zestron,

That seems quite strange, you can't easily edit group policy settings in XP Home (unless this is an XP Pro system).

Try the following fix for Task Manager:
http://windowsxp.mvp...nager_error.htm

Try the following fix for System Restore:
http://windowsxp.mvps.org/srpolicy.htm

Regards,

Ax

anzenketh

anzenketh

BSOD Warrior/Computer Surgeon

• Technician
  • 2,854 posts
zestron

A lot of times this is also a policy set in by malware. Does your system seam to be running a bit slower? Does anyone else have active to the computer?

If your system is running a bit slower then it used to and no one else has access to the computer.

I suggest you go to the Malware Forum and run all the steps located in the START HERE. These self-help tools will help you clean up 70% of problems on your own. If you are still having problems after doing the steps, then please post a HiJackThis Log in THAT forum. If you are unable to run and/or post a HJT log, then post that in your initial post in the topic you create in that forum.