Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Proxy...

• Please log in to reply

PANCAK3

PANCAK3

• PipPipPip
  • 125 posts
Hi, I'm new to this whole proxy business. I found some proxy addons for firefox (switchproxy and foxyproxy). But they both somehow wont load any page.
Also tried Anonymizer...but it seems a bit too slow.

Is this always the case that you have to sacrifice internet speed when you are connected through a proxy?

I also heard that many proxy servers are scam. So can anyone provide hmm "fast and reliable" proxy servers?

Any comments would be appreciated.

Advertisements

Damien Kane

Damien Kane

• PipPip
  • 63 posts
There are two popular providers: Jap, which used to be free and has now switched to a paying service (at last look, anyhow) but I've been using Tor (The Tor Project) for a while. It's now easy to install, but you have to configure things manually, although tools like Firefox's Tor button may help.

To be honest, I don't use the Tor button because it only worked half the time.

To download Tor, go to www.torproject.org

Usually with proxy servers, you sacrifice speed for anonymity, especially if people use it for large downloads, torrents, etc. If you want a proxy for this purpose, try something other than Tor.