Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Is Firefox as safe as IE?

• Please log in to reply

Cold Titanium

Cold Titanium

Trusted Helper

• Malware Removal
  • 1,735 posts
I have Vista and IE 7. IS Firefox as fast and safe? (yes im new to this). Could you people give some more info about the differences between the 2? I read about it on Wikipedia but I want someone who has Firefox and IE's opinion of the 2.

Thanks! :)

Advertisements

Major Payne

Major Payne

Retired Staff

• Retired Staff
  • 5,307 posts
Might read over this topic.

Ron

Damien Kane

Damien Kane

• PipPip
  • 63 posts
I'm a Firefox (FF) tried and tested fan, too. Just to add a little more -

As for speed, you probably know that the addons and themes might slow down the load time, but if you install the addon 'minimise to tray' and then minimise FF to the tray, each subsequent session of FF (by clicking the icon) will speed it up even quicker than IE. You'll notice that the FF is resident in your system tray until you reboot.

I understand that the developers are looking at putting an option for the FF icon to run at boot time in the system tray. IE is loaded by default through Windows - one day, FF will too.

mcdanielnc89

mcdanielnc89

• PipPipPip
  • 171 posts
That would be awesome if FF overrules IE. haha... Practically aready does now.

Damien Kane

Damien Kane

• PipPip
  • 63 posts