Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Malware removed but now xp acting up


  • Please log in to reply

#1
Dajap

Dajap

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 33 posts
Well I just got finished removing malware/spyware removed from my computer through this site but now my windows xp is acting weird.

1.One beep when booting
2.Can't connect to the internet
3.None of my music works
4.Can't do System Restore
5.Help and Support doesn't work
6.Windows xp looks really generic and doesn't look the way it used to.

These are some of the things that I know that are wrong.

Any help would be appreciated! Thanks in advance!
Chris
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
Ztruker

Ztruker

    Member 5k

  • Technician
  • 7,065 posts
1.One beep when booting2.Can't connect to the internet3.None of my music works4.Can't do System Restore5.Help and Support doesn't work6.Windows xp looks really generic and doesn't look the way it used to.

1. One beep when booting is normal. No beep or multiple beeps is bad.

2. Open a command prompt. Type ipconfig /all and past output in a post here in this thread. That may help determine what is wrong.

3. We can work on this after the other stuff is fixed.

4. Turn off System Restore, reboot, turn it back on again. This will get rid of all existing, corrupted, restore points and create a new one. You should also reduce the amount of space allocated to System Restore at the same time. Something around 500MB is plenty. The default of 12% is ridiculous.

5. Try Kelly's Korner: http://www.kellys-ko...m/top10faqs.htm, 3rd one down.

Also, see this site, lots of information: http://windowsxp.mvps.org/helpctr.htm

See here for How to reinstall Help and Support

Also see MJ's Help Diagnostics Posted by Jim Habbeger here: http://www.annoyance...xp/1195747826?s

6. Can you provide a picture of what it looks like now?
  • To capture the entire desktop, press the Print Screen key, To capture the active window, press Alt+Print Screen.
  • Open a Image editing program like Paint (Start / Run type mspaint and press Enter) or IrfanView and paste the screen capture into it, then save the file to a place where you can find it.
  • Goto a web site like register if needed then upload your picture.
  • Copy the link to your picture then paste it into a post in this thread.

  • 0

#3
Dajap

Dajap

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 33 posts
Here is #2 and 6

Posted Image
  • 0

#4
Ztruker

Ztruker

    Member 5k

  • Technician
  • 7,065 posts
2. You entered the ipconfig command wrong. There is no space between the "/" and the word "all". It must be ipconfig /all. Also, instead of pasting a picture of the ipconfig output, copy and paste it by right clicking on the Command prompt title bar and select Edit then Mark. Use the left mouse button to select all the output, then click the right mouse button to copy it to the clipboard. Then you can paste just the text here.

6. What is wrong with the desktop, it looks okay to me except for the dark blobs behind the icon text? What do you expect it to look like?
  • 0

#5
Dajap

Dajap

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 33 posts
2.

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
© Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Christopher Hamilton>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : PC315417827683
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Eth
ernet NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-36-33-99-41

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11b/g WLAN
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-14-A5-75-11-FB

C:\Documents and Settings\Christopher Hamilton>

6. It just looks different like when I hit the start button, everything is so square and basic looking and I just know it didn't look like that before.
  • 0

#6
Ztruker

Ztruker

    Member 5k

  • Technician
  • 7,065 posts
Ah, okay. For #6, it sounds like you got to Classic Mode somehow. Right click on the Start button, select Properties. Select "Start menu" if it's set to "Classic Start menu".

For the connectivity problem, your network card is not connecting to your ISP, you don't have an IP address. Please try the following:

Open Device Manager. Expand Network adapters. Delete anything that appears there.
Shutdown and reboot. Let XP rediscover your NIC and load the drivers for it. See if that helps.
If not, open Network Connections in Control Panel. Right click on "Local Area Connection" and select Repair.

Post back with results.

If anyone else has any suggestions, please feel free to join in.
  • 0

#7
Dajap

Dajap

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 33 posts
for #6 it wasn't set on classic, maybe if I reboot it will change.

If I delete what I have under network adapters will I be able to put it back. I don't have the disk for the laptop because all this stuff was already loaded on it when I bought it.
  • 0

#8
Dajap

Dajap

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 33 posts
Here is my MJ's Help Diagnostics

MJ's Help Report
A common problem with HTML Help 1.x is DLLs not correctly registered during installation. This utility checks all components and registers DLLs if required. We also report if the RoboHelp DLL is registered, and if MS Help 2 components are installed and registered.

After running the report, try running your program again to see if the fault has cleared.

General Info

Report EXE: C:\DOCUME~1\CHRIST~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\Temporary Directory 1 for MJsDiag.zip\MJsDiag.exe
Report Run Date: 2007-12-18 16:56:09
Report EXE Version: 2.7.2.0
Download URL: http://helpware.net/downloads/
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Operating System: Windows NT 5.1.2600
SysLocale.DefaultLCID: 0x0409 (1033)
SysLocale.PriLangID: 0x0009 (9)
SysLocale.SubLangID: 0x0001 (1)
DecimalSeparator: .
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HH Installed: YES
HH Version: 5.2.3790.2847
HH Friendly Version: > 1.4a
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
H2 Installed: NO
H2 Version:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
IE Installed: YES
IE Version: 6.0.2900.3157
IE Friendly Version: Internet Explorer 6 (Windows XP SP2)


NT Administrator

NT Admin Check: Current user has full administor privileges: YES


HTML Help Run-time Components

File Registered OK: C:\WINDOWS\system32\hhctrl.ocx (Version: 5.2.3790.2847)
File Registered OK: C:\WINDOWS\system32\itss.dll (Version: 5.2.3790.2453)
File Registered OK: C:\WINDOWS\system32\itircl.dll (Version: 5.2.3790.2453)

File Found: C:\WINDOWS\system32\hhctrl.ocx
Version = 5.2.3790.2847
Registry Info: {adb880a6-d8ff-11cf-9377-00aa003b7a11}
ClassName = HHCtrl Object
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\system32\hhctrl.ocx
ProgID = Internet.HHCtrl.1
DLL is Found and Registered OK = YES

File Found: C:\WINDOWS\system32\itss.dll
Version = 5.2.3790.2453
Registry Info: {5D02926A-212E-11D0-9DF9-00A0C922E6EC}
ClassName = Microsoft InfoTech IStorage System
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\system32\itss.dll
ProgID = MSITFS1.0
DLL is Found and Registered OK = YES

File Found: C:\WINDOWS\system32\itircl.dll
Version = 5.2.3790.2453
Registry Info: {4662DAA5-D393-11D0-9A56-00C04FB68BF7}
ClassName =
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\system32\itircl.dll
ProgID = ITIR.WordWheelBuild.4
DLL is Found and Registered OK = YES


For HH Version Info See: http://helpware.net/...elp/hh_info.htm


HTML Help 1.x Registry Settings

Description: If present this Key can disable HH Shortcuts and HH WinHelp commands on the local PC
Reference: KB 810687, KB 323180

Key: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\System\
Value: HelpQualifiedRootDir (string value) =
-> Report: Policy is not enabled. HH Shortcuts are not restricted on local machine.

Description: This key can be used to enable Hhctrl.ocx ActiveX Visual controls on servers
Reference: KB 892675

Key: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\HTMLHelp\1.x\HHRestrictions
Value: UrlAllowList (string value) =
Value: MaxAllowedZone (string value) =
-> Report: Settings reported for information only.

Description: This key allows MS programs such as iexplore.exe to open ITS file that do not have a .CHM file extension
Reference: KB 873343

Key: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\HTMLHelp\1.x\HelpRestrictions\AllowedExtensions
-> Report: No special file extensions have been enabled on this PC.

Description: This key can be used to allow access to remote ITS files
Reference: Win 2003 SP1, KB 896054

Key: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\HTMLHelp\1.x\ItssRestrictions
Value: UrlAllowList (string value) =
Value: MaxAllowedZone (string value) =
Value: NestedProtocolList (string value) =
-> Report: Settings reported for information only.

For HH Registry Info See: http://helpware.net/...h_info.htm#hh14


HTML Help 1.x Workshop Components

*** HH Workshop not found or not installed correctly. Try reinstalling.

File not found: C:\Program Files\itcc.dll


*** File Not Found: hha.dll


KeyHelp OCX by Keyworks.net - KeyHelp.ocx

This is for information only. KeyHelp is a 3rd party DLL.
*** KeyHelp.ocx is not registered or not installed!
*** You can register your KeyHelp.ocx using the "Register a DLL" button.
*** KeyHelp.ocx could be installed anywhere on your PC by normally resides in the Windows System folder.

For More Info See: http://keyworks.net/


RoboHelp DLL by eHelp/Macromedia - HHActiveX.dll

This is for information only. HHActiveX is a 3rd party DLL.
*** HHActiveX.dll is not registered or not installed!
*** You can register your HHActiveX.dll using the "Register DLL..." button.
*** HHActiveX.dll could be installed anywhere on your PC.

For More Info See: http://www.macromedia.com/


MS Help 2 Run-time Components

*** MS Help 2 NOT installed on this PC
  • 0

#9
Ztruker

Ztruker

    Member 5k

  • Technician
  • 7,065 posts
The drivers are already on the hard drive. When you delete the device then reboot, XP rediscovers the device and loads the drivers. This often fixes problems like this so it's worth a try. Should not cause any harm.

If it doesn't resolve the problem, open Network Connections, right click on Local Area Network and select Properties. Make sure "Client for Microsoft Networks" and "Internet Protocol [TCP/IP]" are installed. If yes, double click on TCP/IP and make sure Obtain IP and DNS Addresses are selected. Post back and we'll continue as needed.

As for DJ's diagnostic, everything looks okay to me. All necessary DLLs seem to have registered okay. Are there any yellow marks in Device Manager, specifically for Audio?
  • 0

#10
Dajap

Dajap

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 33 posts
I uninstalled the items and windows reloaded them but no joy. I went to the network connections and there isn't anything in that folder. As for DJ's diagnostic there wasn't any yellow marks.
  • 0

Advertisements


#11
Ztruker

Ztruker

    Member 5k

  • Technician
  • 7,065 posts
Do you have anything listed under Network Adapters in Device Manager. If so, what is there?
  • 0

#12
Dajap

Dajap

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 33 posts
I have Broadcom 802.11b/g WLAN and Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Ethernet NIC
  • 0

#13
The Skeptic

The Skeptic

    Trusted Tech

  • Technician
  • 4,075 posts
1: Could you write down the make and model of your computer?

2: Enter Device Manager and see if there are any yellow or red marks near any of the devices. You may have to reload some corrupted or missing drivers.

3: Insert your XP cd, click Start > Run. Type sfc /scannow and press Enter. This process looks for missing or corrupt system files. If it finds any, it copies them from the cd and rewrites them in the computer.
  • 0

#14
Dajap

Dajap

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 33 posts
1. The laptop is a compaq presario v2000
2. The EABFiltr has a yellow mark under Non-Plug and Play Drivers
3. I bought this laptop from Staples and it had xp loaded on it already I believe. I don't think I have a disk.
  • 0

#15
The Skeptic

The Skeptic

    Trusted Tech

  • Technician
  • 4,075 posts
I think that your best option is to use the recovery option built into your computer. Please use this link for detailed instructions. Few notes:

1: Backup your data. That is very important.
2: Read the instructions first. Follow them carefully latter. Read the explanation about how long the process may take.
3: The option you should choose is "Recovering from Windows XP". Latter choose System Recovery (Do Not choose Destructive Recovery).
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP