Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

First build-- newbie questions

• Please log in to reply

Brin7

Brin7

• Pip
  • 6 posts
Hi Guys, I just finished building my first PC. I plugged it in and I see this screen. I figured I'd pack it up for the night since I'm not sure what to do next. Should I load the disc that came with the motherboard next or my operating system (vista 32bit) ? By looking at this screen is my hard drive being recognized ? Its a Sata drive and I don't see it. How come some of the USB are 1.1 shouldn't they be 2.0 ? Remember I'm new at this be easy on me . Thanks

Posted Image

Advertisements

zoneykid

zoneykid

• PipPip
  • 84 posts
All that stuff is normal, you should see your hard drive higher on the screen, and load you Vista disc first, although i do recommend you check out a few settings in BIOS(pushing the del key[usually] while you see the boot screen[usually a logo of some kind[it should say the key to press for BIOS(it might say setup) under it]

When changing BIOS settings usually you should change only things you understand, and turn on SMART by the way it helps tell you if your hard drive is faulty.

After you mess around with BIOS settings put in your vista disc, once it's installed put in the disc that came with the mother board and load the drivers from that then you should go online and download the latest drivers for your stuff(video card, sound card etc..)