Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

New build in the next 6mo

• Please log in to reply

callistra

callistra

• Pip
  • 4 posts
I've been saying I'm going to build myself a computer for about 2 years now. I should finally have enough saved up in the next six months.. my birthday is in June and whatever I have left I'm sure I'll get in money then. At the time I'd done a lot of research and thought I knew what the best was. But it's been a while and I feel out of the loop. I really especially need reccomendations on the motherboard and chassis. Since this is my first build I would like something that is fairly easy to assemble. I'm not a novice.. I've been upgrading computers for years, but I've never installed a motherboard or cpu before. This makes me nervous because I hear you can fry a mobo if you install it wrong.. something about the prongs on the chassis hitting the wrong places..? Also, the chassis should have some good dust filters. I don't know why but my house is a dust magnet. We have professional cleaners come in and still.. anyway. As for the motherboard, I don't plan to overclock. I just want something that runs well, is stable, and has room for future upgrades. I was dead set on a mobo at the time, but there have been SO Many new ones come out that I feel a little lost. This is what I have in mind, but I'm very open to suggestions:

CoolMaster Stacker 830 Black
Asus P5N32-E SLI
Intel E6750
PCP&C 610w
WD2500AAKS
WD1500AHFD
Zalman CNPS9500 LED OR 9700 LED OR ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm