Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works

www.tvsetmp3.com gives virus to computer when opened

  • Please log in to reply



    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
I have a site that I had been working toward the top of the search engines. I had gotten to #3 and 4 and all of a sudden went to page 4. I worked and worked trying to find out why I dropped. After looking at my traffric facts I found that there was a site www.tvsetmp3.com referring to and crawling my site. When I tried to open it, I had a notification that this site was putting a virus on my computer. It could not fix the virus, but could put it in the valut.

I feel this is why I was dropped down so far so suddenly. Even if that is not it, it is very important that we get this site closed down. I looked at WhoIS and found the owner cannot been contacted. I contacted the domain server and they said I would have to have proof. The people that have provided the domain i EST Domains. (302) 722-4217.

How do I go about getting this site closed down?

Now I have to tackle the spyware and virus it has put in my computer. I will need help on that soon!!!
  • 0




    Tech Staff

  • Technician
  • 1,323 posts
Hello hsvdiane and welcome to Geeks to Go!

Thanks for letting us know. You can report the website at the following locations:
SecurityWonks.org :: MRCC Discussion Forums
Consumer Sentinel

I'm sure it has already have been reported, as it appears Google has taken it out of its search index.

As for any malware issues, I suggest you go to the Malware Forum and run all the steps located in the START HERE. These self-help tools will help you clean up 70% of problems on your own. If you are still having problems after doing the steps, then please post a HiJackThis Log in THAT forum. If you are unable to run and/or post a HJT log, then post that in your initial post in the topic you create in that forum.

If you are still having problems after being given a clean bill of health from the malware expert, then please return to THIS thread and we will pursue other options to help you solve your current problem(s).


  • 0



    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
I've just had the same problem.

I spotted tvsetmp3.com in my web stats refering to one of my sites. As I'd never heard of it, and being curious, I decided to take a look. Big mistake! the site pretends to offer porn videos but of course you need to install a special codec. Not being stupid I tried to cancel and close the browser - but it still installed a trojan - videoaccesscodecinstall.exe which I've now removed.

However, my site has dropped almost entirely out of google rankings recently and I now suspect that the reason is this site linking to it.

I'd recommend asking Google for a reconsideration as I have done. You can do this on Google Webmaster Tools > Dashboard > Request Reconsideration and explaining the situation.
  • 0



    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Here is the information I received from Est Domains. I have reported this like you requested to the three places. Here is the email I received from the domain registrar:

Dear Sir/Madam,

We deeply regret the inconveniences caused by the one of our customers.
However, kindly note that as a Domain Name Registrar, EstDomains, Inc
has strictly limited competence in taking decisions and measures against
domain name.
In general, Domain Name Registrar responsibility is to hold an inquiry
into the issues concerning the domain name including spam complaints,
inaccurate whois information, phishing, different copyright issues
In case the issue regards the content of the hosted site registered
under the disputed domain name, the measures cannot be taken against the
Such limitation is substantiated by the limited access to the disputed
website files with a purpose of the closer investigation of the
content. The site’s location is also a controversial point. The content that
is considered to be abusive according to the legislation of the one
country can be legally accepted by the legislation of another state.
Thereof please accept our apologies for the inconvenience. What we
strongly recommend you to do is to contact the hosting company for this
particular domain, who is certainly in a better position to assist you.
In case the hosting company refuses to help you please feel free to
contact us again and we will definitely try to find the solution to this
Hosting company of this domain name is:
[email protected]
19 TaiSeng Drive
Singapore 535222
+65 6825 7878
+65 6821 6012
For all further inquiries please feel free to contact us at any time

Kind regards,

Ticket Details
Ticket ID: FGN-796782
Department: Abuse Department
Priority: Critical
Status: Closed
  • 0

Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP