Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Unable to un-hide my folders.

• Please log in to reply

Fc3sZero

Fc3sZero

• Pip
  • 3 posts
Sorry to bother you guys with such a mundane problem but I am having issues. I'm not an expert with computers but I do know my way around them. When I hid my desktop folders, I didn't realize that I wouldn't be able to reverse that. The "Hidden" box it grayed out, So i'm unable to click it off. It's not a huge deal becuase I just goto folder options and "show hidden folders" but it bugs me to open folders to see a bunch of should be hidden system files.

I first thought perhaps it were a virus or malware so I ran AVG, Spybot and Ad-aware (all updated) and found the usual bunch of tracking cookies but nothing critical. I'm pretty obsessive when it comes to running those programs and Tune-up Utilities.

I went to the registry and the "hidden" value was "1" so it wasn't that.

I rebooted into safemode and did another scan with all three programs.

anything else i'm missing? :)

Advertisements

Ztruker

Ztruker

Member 5k

• Technician
  • 7,091 posts
Try booting to Safe Mode and logging in as Administrator. See if you can uncheck the Hidden attribute there.

You can also try opening a command prompt and using the CD command to change to the Folder that contains the folder/folders you've hidden. Then use the attrib command to remove the Hidden attribute from the folders.

Enter attrib /? for usage info.

Fc3sZero

Fc3sZero

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 3 posts