Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

LCD display thing, not sure what it's called

• Please log in to reply

Seltox

Seltox

• PipPipPip
  • 254 posts
I took my computer apart for a routine cleaning last night, but I also decided i'd move a fan to the front of the case, so I had to take apart my computer to an extent i've never done before.

Anyway, I have this LCD display thing on the front that display time, temperature and fan speeds. This is it (sorry about picture quality, my camera is out of batteries and that's the only picture I have).

I'm gonna provide links to a lot of pictures, because I have no idea how to explain a lot of this.

I had to take the front cover of my case off in order to screw in the fan, so I had to disconnect all the wires from the LCD. It all looked straight forward when I was doing it.

When I plugged everything back in I noticed that I had no idea what 3 of the cables were for. These ones. After looking at them for a bit longer I noticed that they had stickers on them, "HDD", "VGA" and "CPU". I figured that these must be for the temperatures, as those are the 3 things it display temperatures for. But They plug into the display on one end, and the other end is just a little red dot-like thing with some blue around it and I have no idea where it's meant to go.