Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Need Help with creating a Website, Blog, or Forum

• Please log in to reply

phatjo911

phatjo911

• PipPipPip
  • 102 posts
Hi guys, I have caught on to forums, and I find them very easy to use.
I want to make on of my own, but I am not very experienced in that field.
So is there any software or book that could help me?
I am particularly interested in books or if there is, a good how-to guide online. of course, I wouldn't mind software either.

Advertisements

Johanna

Johanna

The Leather Lady

• 3,038 posts
Simple machines Forum Software
Johanna

Major Payne

Major Payne

Retired Staff

• Retired Staff
  • 5,307 posts
You also can get an open sourced forum at phpBB. Very easy to use.

Ron

phatjo911

phatjo911

• Topic Starter
  • PipPipPip
  • 102 posts
Hi, everyone

I have wanted to make a website for the past few months, but I am not sure I want to go ahead and purchase a domain

So, I thought maybe I could make a website on something like google pages

To you, would it be more attractive if I did a real domain or something like google pages? No difference?

Also, could I make a forum out of the google pages?

Thanks

gunner12

gunner12

• PipPip
  • 46 posts
If you're just starting out then I would go with Google pages or something free until you know what you are doing. Once your confident with your HTML skills then I would definitely get my own domain name and paid hosting.

Major Payne

Major Payne

Retired Staff

• Retired Staff
  • 5,307 posts