Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Unable to sign on to Computer

• Please log in to reply

Honeygirl

Honeygirl

• Pip
  • 5 posts
Hello,

I am not very good with computers but I have a problem and was hoping someone could help.

It is an HP Laptop with Windows XP.

Had many viruses and finally got them cleaned but one that stated something about "oppol.exe". Like an idiot I took someones advise and went into c:\windows\system32 found oppol and then deleted it. Dumb dumb dumb!!!!

Restarted my computer......it starts windows XP and it goes to the Welcome screen. I put in the password to log in and it starts loading personal settings and then all of a sudden it states it is logging off. It then returns to the welcome screen.

HELP! Is there anything that can be done?????

Thanks,
Honeygirl

Edited by Honeygirl, 04 January 2008 - 07:09 PM.

Advertisements

Ztruker

Ztruker

Member 5k

• Technician
  • 7,091 posts
oppol.exe is not part of Windows XP. Don't know what it is or what it belongs to as a Google search gets no hits.

Anyway, boot to the Windows Selection Menu by pressing F8 (or F5 is F8 doesn't work). Select "Last known good configuration", see if that fixes the problem.

Honeygirl

Honeygirl

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
Thank you for responding back.

I performed the tasked that you had mentioned. It did not work. It went to a blue screen for about 10 secs and then returned right back to the welcome screen.

Kim

happyrock

happyrock

Tech Moderator

• Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts