Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Motherboard temperature

• Please log in to reply

Frunobulax

Frunobulax

• Pip
  • 7 posts
I am new to building my own computer and hope someone can help me out with what I'm sure is a basic issue:

I was installing the OS and got an error message: RQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL. I googled and from what I read became concerned this is the computer overheating. So I checked the temperature readings in BIOS and this is the reading:

CPU = 46
Motherboard = 31
ICH - 58
MCH - 66

All Celsius of course. This is just when I turned it on and the ICH/MCH temps were nudging upwards a little when I left it on for a few minutes. I got worried the temps are too high and shut it all down, I am afraid of turning it back on and overheating before I know more.

I looked at the Technical Specifications for the mobo and although it tells me what regions of the mobo are represented by ICH & MCH, it doesn't list temp ranges for them that I could see. It does list a temp of 50 for the mobo and I don't know if this should be applied to ICH & MCH as well.

My first thought is that I need a better heat sink than came with the CPU. However, before I leap into buying a heat sink, I want to know does this just affect the CPU temp or will it bring the ICH/MCH temps down as well? Because it seems that the CPU temp is just fine at 46. And I only have my suspicions to go on that the ICH/MCH temps are too hot and would like to have confirmation on that.

Any kind advice to a newbie is appreciated, thanks!