Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Windows 98 SE

• Please log in to reply

silverfoxco

silverfoxco

• Pip
  • 2 posts

Hello! This is my first time here, so please guide me if I'm not doing this properly. Thanks!

I've been having problems with my 'stone age' computer off and on for a couple months now. Following is recap of back ground and problems.

O/S: Windows 98 SE
Browser: IE 6
Anti Spyware: SpyBot S&D
Anti Virus: Avast

1. In late Oct. 2007 my computer started running slowly. So, I removed a lot of old things, such as, out dated emails, bookmarks, saved files etc. And, also decided to remove Corel programs as I didn't really use Corel and it kept causing 'errors'. I uninstalled the following Corel programs:

Corel Print Office (99) Special Edition
Corel Print House Magic (99)
Word Perfect Office 2000 (Prefessional)
Dragon Naturally Speaking
Corel DRAW 9 (Graphics Suite)

I removed these using the 'Add/Remove' programs in the Control Panel.

Results:

Good: Computer ran faster again. Corel created 'errors' ceased.

Problems: