Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

WinXP won't start; chkdsk repeatedly runs and reboots

• Please log in to reply

kota132

kota132

• Pip
  • 6 posts
Hello all, this is my first post here. I'm a college student; majoring in computer systems engineering technology. Classes don't start for spring until the end of the week, so I can't have my professors help me, so I'm using fourms to fix my problem. Here it is:

I'm currently working on a Dell Inspirion 1501, AMD 64x Dual Core, 1GB RAM, 100 GB HDD, Windows XP Media Center Edition, SP2.

The original problem was a registry error message that was coming up at startup, and Internet Explorer 7 would not load the Internet even though everything with the Local Area Connection was fine.

These problems were fixed by: Uninstalling Internet Explorer 7, and running TuneUp2008, which has a registry cleaner, which fixed several problems. Everything seemed to work fine after this; up until I attempted to use Spyware Blaster and Ad-Aware. The computer was not allowing them to access the internet.
Checked the Windows Firewall, and added the programs to the exceptions list, still nothing.