Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

What kind of ram do i need?

• Please log in to reply

Nupek

Nupek

• Pip
  • 3 posts
Hi,

Im pretty new at all of this. I have a m7060n HP (http://www.dealtime....smart-PC-M7060N) I want to upgrade my ram from the standard 1gb that i bought it with to 2 or 4 gb. I was thinking of buying 4gbs of CORSAIR XMS2 ram from newegg.com for like 90$ or w/e but idk if my motherboard is compatible with PC2 6400 ram. Can someone help me out?

Thanks

Advertisements

SRX660

SRX660

motto - Just get-er-done

• Technician
  • 4,345 posts
According to the H-P website you have DDR memory in that computer, so you will need to buy PC3200 memory. XP will not use 4 gigs of memory anyway. The real limit is around 3 gigs and some computer wont even use 3 gigs. I would thing that 2 gigs of memory would be plenty for most everything you will do on the computer.

SRX660

Samm

Samm

Trusted Tech

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,476 posts
Welcome to G2G

According to Crucial's Memory Advisor and Kingston's memory advisor, your system (Media Centre m7060n) uses PC2-4200 (DDR2 533MHz). I checked Corsairs memory configurator as well but they don't list your system.