Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Computer Powers Down when running World of Warcraft

• Please log in to reply

girlgamer

girlgamer

• Pip
  • 1 posts
This is my first time posting on a forum about the problems I've experienced recently with my Alienware Area-51 M7700 Laptop. So bear with me.

I've experienced all the same problems as other M7700 owners, overheating, hot to the touch video card fan, etc. I've removed the thermal tape (or lack thereof) and replaced it with thermal paste (on both the video card fan and the CPU), and I have a nifty little 3M stand to elevate the laptop so air is constantly getting into the video card fan.

My problem is this:

I play World of Warcarft and within the last 2 to 3 weeks my computer completely shuts down within 2 seconds of the log in screen loading, we're talking I can't even get the first digit of my password typed. I won't proclaim myself as a computer guru, because I'm not, but I do know my fair share.

Through trouble shooting of my own devices (especially since Alienware Tech Support isn't worth the f&*n paper its written on), what I've found is the laptop shuts down (when the log in WoW screen appears)when the power supply is plugged in, BUT if I unplug the A/C adaptor from the power supply leaving the power supply plugged into the laptop I can run WoW on my battery (with minimal performance loss) for about 45 minutes. BUT if I plug the A/C adaptor into the power supply while running off battery power the laptop then shuts off. :)