Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

UPGRADE CPU

• Please log in to reply

willo 171

willo 171

• Pip
  • 2 posts
Hi, I'm new to this and need advice. I have a P4 with a 2.4 ghz CPU and have just upgraded to a 3ghz. both are 478 pin and I'm running Windows 2000 pro. My problem is that at no particular time the computer freezes and I have to reboot. I have placed a fan near the unit just in case it was overheating but no difference.
My mainboard is a ALBATRON PX845 pro 800.
The specs of the new CPU are

SL6WU MALAY

L401A827

Number:SL6WU
CPU Speed:3 GHz
PCG:
Bus Speed:800 MHz
Bus/Core Ratio:15
L2 Cache Size:512 KB
L2 Cache Speed:3 GHz
Package Type:478 pin
Manufacturing Technology:0.13 micron
Core Stepping:D1
CPUID String:0F29h
Thermal Design Power:81.9W
Thermal Specification:70°C
VID Voltage Range:1.25V-1.525V

Any help would be appreciated

Advertisements

fenzodahl512

fenzodahl512

• Malware Removal
  • 9,863 posts
quick question. Do you use the very same heatsink that used on older processor before or you use the new heatsink that comes with the new processor?

you might want to re-apply thermal paste between your processor and heatsink/fan. :)

SRX660

SRX660

motto - Just get-er-done

• Technician
  • 4,345 posts