Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

completing a system build - best harddrive/ram/pagefile config?

• Please log in to reply

richegreen

richegreen

• Pip
  • 2 posts
Hey everyone, I've been lurking in here for a while while I was doing some major upgrades to my system. I've been building PC's for almost 15 years, so I was able to handle mostly everything on my own, but I do have a couple questions.

Here is my current system (NOTHING is overclocked):

AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4200+ with the included fan/heatsick (new as of last week)

a blue Broadway case that's starting to fall apart, but still works....fans on the top and back....there's a slot for a side fan, but I removed it when I did the last upgrades as wires tended to get trapped in it

Thermaltake Silent Purepower W0014RU ATX12V 480W Power Supply

ASUS M2A-VM (new as of last week)

ATI X1250 w/256MB shared RAM (this is on-board video...I was on a budget so I didn't want to buy a new PCI-E video card yet....so far it still beats my AGP Radeon 9800SE 128MB card in all aspects though)

G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) (new as of last week - I actually have 1.75GB since the onboard memory uses 256MB)

Sound Blaster Audigy Platinum (PCI card and a 5.25 port bay--I use the optical out to plug into my 5.1 Aiwa AV-D58 system)