Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Laptop's resolution changes when I close it.

• Please log in to reply

AniDanny

AniDanny

• PipPip
  • 92 posts
I've been using a IBM Thinkpad T43p for a few years now. A couple days ago, the hard drive stopped working, so I had to get a new one. I've gotten it mostly back to normal now. One of the biggest annoyances is that for some reason, after I open up the laptop, the screen flickers back on, and for a split-second, it's in the wrong resolution. I'm not sure, but it's somewhere around 800x600. I normally use 1400x1050, so when it does this, it screws up where a lot of things on my screen are. I checked around on Google, and the best I could find was this: http://forum.noteboo...hp/t-61258.html I tried what was suggested there, and it didn't work. That may have been because that was for a T60 and not a T43p.

Anyway, has anyone else had this problem, or know how I would go about fixing it?

Advertisements

Ztruker

Ztruker

Member 5k

• Technician
  • 7,091 posts
Did you load all the drivers for the laptop? The lenovo site has them: Lenovo Support and Downloads ... see Video near the bottom of the page.

AniDanny

AniDanny

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 92 posts
Just finished installing the video drivers, still doesn't seem to have helped... =\

Ztruker

Ztruker

Member 5k

• Technician
  • 7,091 posts
Did you update to the latest BIOS as the link directed? Right at the top of the Lenovo page is BIOS update choices.

The fixes listed here: http://www-307.ibm.c...ocid=MIGR-60768 include this one: