Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Calling all GEEKS, calling all GEEKS......

• Please log in to reply

Jake B Delbek

Jake B Delbek

• PipPip
  • 15 posts
I am about to purchase a new computer. The computer I now have, a Dell Dimension 4400 with 512MB of RAM and 37 Gigs of hard drive memory, is a serious dinosaur straight from the Jurassic that I really need to kick out the door yesterday.

The main reason I need a new computer, is because I am a developer. I develop membership sites using every imaginable form of multimedia. You name the multimedia modality, I'll be using it.

I can't use this useless dinosaur of a "computer" any more. Time to smash it to bits and start over with a decent computer system.

I am really partial to HP computers. I found a HP computer at Sam's for $1100 that has 620 gigs of hard drive and an unbelievable 4 gigs of RAM (system memory). What the...? I thought Vista OS can see only 3 gigs of RAM? The OS is 64 bit Vista Home Premium.

My question is, Can I use Camtasia on a 64 bit version of Vista Home Premium? Can I use Microsoft Office 2007 on a 64 bit version of Vista Home Premium?

Or should I play it perfectly safe and stick with 32 bit?