Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Building My First Box - Budget Server

• Please log in to reply

TriviallyTravis

TriviallyTravis

• Pip
  • 2 posts
I've decided to put together a budget box (this is my first "from scratch" build, though I'm no novice on the subject of computer hardware) to be used as sort of a general purpose server. That is, I'll use it to host files, as a print server, run bittorrent, etc. I'll probably install Hamachi and VNC for remote access/management. (Note: It is POSSIBLE that I may think about using this as sort of a media center in the future. I'm not real familiar on what sort of specs a media center PC would need, so any input there would be helpful too.)

My goal is to spend $500 or less, thoughit looks to me like I'm going to be able to get away with much less. My idea was to buy components as I ran across them for cheap and just kind of get it a little at a time.

Here is what I've been thinking about so far:

Case - this is what I know the least about, believe it or not. Really, I just want any old box that I can stick in a closet somewhere. I don't want a COMPLETELY crappy one, but I'd like to keep it pretty cheap. I'll probably attempt to use the cheap power supply it comes with at least until I start having problems with it =P (that is unless you guys think it's possible to get a decent case and power supply separate and still keep it within my budget).

Processor - I have a local store selling the Intel Core 2 Duo 4500 for $99, so I think I'm going to pick one up.