Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

How to set up a site to showcase my own music ?

• Please log in to reply

rxkevco

rxkevco

• PipPipPip
  • 461 posts
Hi all,,,,
Sorry to bust in on your website makers section, but i thought if anyone knows it will be one of you guys/gals ! ! :)

To cut things short,,i am a musician and write, play and produce all my own material in my own small home recording studio.
I have now reached the point where i would like to put some of my songs on my own website so people i know and ork with can just visit and listen to the songs,,, spread the word etc,,,

I cant afford to set up my own site so have been looking at some of the free to build sites such as www.freewebs.com. I actually like one of the templates on this particular site and have been able to build a very basic site with a photo or two,, but when it comes to uploading a song file(wma/mp3) from my hardrive it doesnt like it at all and appears that its not capable of accepting the files in any format. :)

Can any of you website builders/experts out there offer me any advice on how to go forward with this simple project ???
I could use the utube/facebook/myspace type of arena, but want to steer clear until i have my own site set up properly,,then maybe i could provide links to these types of arenas in the future.

In a nutshell,, how does a novice like myself get to build their own simple website/webpage with a media player and a way of uploading wma/mp3s off my drive ? ? ?