Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

C drive being eaten alive...

• Please log in to reply

BlackHalo

BlackHalo

• PipPipPip
  • 266 posts
OK, I've been using this laptop for about a year (Toshiba Pro M70) and I've only had some issues with overheating. I use the PC mainly for design purposes (I'm a Graphic Designer) so i run memory intensive programs like Photoshop, Adobe Illustrator and Corel Painter all the time (sometimes all at once). This has never been an issue (even when designing A2 sized files) until recently. On Friday I was designing an A4 layout in Photoshop when I suddenly got a warning message from Windows telling me that the space on C disk is running low and i should run Disk Cleanup. When i checked the C drive in My Computer, it said that I have but 96mb left, instead of my usual 55GB!!Where the heck did that 54.1 GB go?? As soon as I ran ATF cleaner, it said it had freed 54GB of space. Why is it suddenly doing all this now? It never gave me that issue (the pc has 1GB RAM and a 128mn graphics card, dedicated as far as i know).

Advertisements

pip22

pip22

Trusted Tech

• Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,663 posts
Did you take note of where those 54gb of files where located when atf cleaner found them?

BlackHalo

BlackHalo

• Topic Starter
  • PipPipPip
  • 266 posts
Nope. Where do I see where they are located? I'll run a quick test with Photoshop again and get back to you.

BlackHalo

BlackHalo

• Topic Starter
  • PipPipPip
  • 266 posts
Appears to be coming out of the prefetch...

jeffk813

jeffk813

• PipPip