Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Graphics Card - Boot Up Probs

• Please log in to reply

runningneck

runningneck

• Pip
  • 4 posts
Hey all,

Im kinda new to this so sorry if I dont make much sense but i'll try and see if you can help me out.

I recently bought an Sapphire ATI radeon 9600xt for my computer that is currently running 64mb onboard graphics. I had no trouble installing the card, but once it is placed in the AGP slot the computer will no longer boot. The light and beep sounds dont occur and the monitor indicates that it is going into stand by. I attempted to disable the card through BIOS but there is no option allowing it, only the option to change it from reading PCI to AGP/Onboard. Even following the manual to the finest detail will not work. It seems there is no way to boot the system with the new card in! As soon as the card is removed every thing is swell again.

Now the computer is a Hewlett-Packard pavillion a420a.
AMD Athalon 2800+
512 MB ddr
40 GB

I know HP comps are difficult to work around but is there any way of easily sorting this out? Because I am absolutly stumped and so are my mates so if any one can help it would be much appreciated.

Thanks.

Advertisements

Doby

Doby

Member 2k

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,075 posts
Hi,

Could you try the card in another computer? if the computer refuses to post/boot it would be a bad card or bad apg slot.

Rick

PicoTTo

PicoTTo

• PipPip
  • 11 posts