Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Blocking Internet Access


  • Please log in to reply

#1
Bahamut

Bahamut

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Hi, I have a NetGEAR Router and would like to block a certain user from accessing the wireless network. I know how to get into the admin page and such, but have tried everything to try and block him, but I want permanent blockage. Also, how can I do it to where no one will know about it if they accessed the admin page after me?
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
silverbeard

silverbeard

    Trusted Tech

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 791 posts
Hi and welcome to g2g,

Is this your router? Is it your internet connection(do you pay the bill)?

If yes you can use the firewall to block access and change the admin password and not allow others to access the admin interface.
  • 0

#3
Chronidus

Chronidus

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
Unless you have already I suggest you click on wireless settings on the netgear router menu and chose to add WPA-PSK security to your wireless network. You can then put password on your wireless network and anyone who doesnt have the password wont be able to access your wireless network. And if you want to know if someone's accessed the router after you, click on logs and place a tick where it says "Connections to the Web-based interface of this Router", it will show you every access made to the admin interface. And make sure you check theres logs on there before, maybe access it a couple of times. If you come on and the logs empty or that box is unticked then someone has accessed the web interface after yourself
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP