Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

HD partition problem

• Please log in to reply

bcji

bcji

• Pip
  • 8 posts
hey, i'm new to geek to go and in need of some advise please.

I have recently backed up my system, formated my HD and re-installed Windows XP Pro because it was running extremly slowly. However, for some stupid reason i re-installed XP onto a tiny 5GB (appox) partition of my HD. The problem i have is that i have installed a number of programs, including the likes of Windows Office 2007 (a big file!) and now i am at the stage where i can't install anything else because there is no space left on this partition.

I though i had the answer by downloading Acronis Disc Director Suite and simply merging my 2 partitions together, however every time i do this, the program appears not responding. :S

I'm sure whether this is a really stupid query but please, any help would be greatly appricaited.

Advertisements

SRX660

SRX660

motto - Just get-er-done

• Technician
  • 4,345 posts
I am not a big fan of the Acronis software. Most of it just plain does not work for me. Acronis TrueImage has let me down twice now. I like using Partition magic. I have used it on a number of computer to combine partitions without any problems yet. I have heard other complain that PM can bork the system, but that has not happened to me.

SRX660

bcji

bcji

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
thankyou for such a quick reply.

i will take a look for that program online in a mo, but is it free? can you give me a link?