Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

XP does not get through Safe Mode

• Please log in to reply

phredex

phredex

• Pip
  • 7 posts
Help, I am new at this. I have been trying to get my laptop to start. Worked fine on Friday afternoon, put it away and came home. turned it on and got to the encryption screen entered passwords and windows started to load, but stopped. Turned off, and went to G2G on other machine.

Tried everything that was suggested including safe mode start up. when I do this, I get a screen full of drivers and it stops on pxhelp.

I have gotten into the bios but do not know where to go from here.

This is a four year old Toshiba Satellite a65 running XP home.

I have never had a problem with it before, and I have tons of things on it that i need to keep, I do not have the recovery disk, it all came preloaded from new. I am the only owner of the machine. :)

In reading these threads about very similar issues, I have seen information on a repair function in the bios, but do not see this option on my machine, what am I missing?

Also, it will not go anywhere but the Safe Mode startup, unless I enter the bios.

Advertisements

hfcg

hfcg

The hippie freak computer geek

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,496 posts
Hello phredex,
Does the machine run in safe mode?
From what you posted it sounds like it does not boot all of the way.
The repair That you are describing is not from the BIOS, but from a small partition on the hard drive.