Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Yes, another BSOD with MINIDUMPS!

• Please log in to reply

GiSWiG

GiSWiG

• Pip
  • 5 posts
Hi all.
I'm new to geeks to go! but seems like the best place to get some answers.

I've done three fresh installs of Vista Ultimate x64 within the last month/month & a half. First, the old standard edition (just got Vista) then Vista with immediate install of SP1, then with an SP1 disc. Each time, getting pickier and anal about it (last time install was followed by immediate run of sfc /scannow and chkdsk /F /R on all drives.

Last one seems to be better. BSODs are fewer and further between, but still a PAIN IN THE ___. So far, I only have 3 BSOD and MiniDumps, with about a day in between. The first two installs were almost one a day if not two.

Now, I know you start to think RAM, HEAT, PSU, etc. So, here's the specs...

ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe
Athlon X2 4200+ Toledo 2.2 GHz (939)
4 GB (1gbx4) G.Skill DDR400 2.5-3-3-6
1 geForce 7950GT 512mb (XFX 550M)
Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro
Primary Drive on SATA1 (is SATA 2.0)
PriIDE 0 & PriIDE 1 - HDDs
SecIDE 0 DVD-RW
OCZ GameXStream 700w

and now the current overclock (don't point fingures yet!)

X2 @ 2.64GHz
-Voltage 1.45 (unsure of stock voltage)
RAM @ DDR480 and 2T command rate
-Timings are stock
-Voltage 2.7
FSB=240
HT=4x @ 960
VidCard not OC'd

Gave it a burn-in test of over a week before calling it stable.