Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Activex Controls

• Please log in to reply

markw47

markw47

• PipPip
  • 12 posts
There are a couple of websites that I would like to visit but they require me to d/l their ActiveX control first. I am a newbie to computer security programs but I have done enough reading to know that there is a good likelyhood that an unwanted program would be attached to their activex control.

I would not mind taking a small risk of clicking on their d/l their activex as long as I could reduce it to as small as possible.

My system is an e-machine with XP home. I use the IE browser.

I have the following security:
1. Norton IS 2008 which I bought
2. Spyblaster 4.0 which I d/l for free a few days ago
3. ESET online scanner the free version

I ran a scan with all three a few days ago and found no problems.

I also recently d/l Adobe Flash Player 9 Activex

I guess that my questions are:
1. Should I d/l some additional security programs first?
2. If one of my security programs detect a dangerous add on program will it block installation of the complete activex control and thus entry to the websites or just the dangerous, unwanted part?
3. Should I not take the risk, no matter how small?
4. Are these security systems compatible with each other?

Thanks,
Mark

Advertisements

pip22

pip22

Trusted Tech

• Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,663 posts