Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

help me decide what psu is compatible with my comp

• Please log in to reply

JCHASE88

JCHASE88

• Pip
  • 2 posts
im new to computers and im trying to start a new hobby i need a good psu im currently running a bestec atx-250-12z ive done some homework and am starting to understand the connectors and and requirements but i dont want to order the wrong one im thinking a antec earth 500 watt but im not sure it will work with my comp or even fit in the space wich is 5.9wx3.4hx5.5d does anyone have any suggestions on a good model? i just dont want to spend money on the wrong psu
p.s. my computer is compaq presario sr1303wm amd sempron

Edited by JCHASE88, 01 May 2008 - 07:41 PM.

Advertisements

S_t_r_y_k_e_r

S_t_r_y_k_e_r

• PipPip
  • 45 posts
Hi JCHASE88 and welcome to gtg.

When it comes to choosing Power Supply Units (PSU), generally the more expensive they are the better and heavier the build quality and also they normally run quieter. (I have myself bought at PSU for £20 ($40) and it ran almost silently).

My question would be is why you are looking to upgrade from what you have, as you dont mention that there is a problem with your existing one. You would normally only need a new PSU for one of two reasons:

1. The current model is faulty or dead
2. You were upgrading numerous components in your PC which took the total power usage to over 250W.

If neither of the above apply, then I feel you would be wasting your money.