Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Extremely slow startup boot.


  • Please log in to reply

#16
Snowdiver

Snowdiver

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 31 posts
It runs totally normal.
  • 0

Advertisements


#17
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
look in the bios and enable fast boot...
you get there by tapping the delete key as soon as your press the power button...yours may be different..read your screen when you first power up
you will have to search around for it...then save your settings (usually F10 but read the screens to be sure)
  • 0

#18
Snowdiver

Snowdiver

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 31 posts
The BIOS does not have the fast boot option. What I did was switch the CDRom and Hard drive in the boot order. CD was first now HD is. Didn't change boot speed at all.
  • 0

#19
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
not sure if this will give us any useful info but go here and run the full tests...
because its taking 5 minutes to get thru the POST operation instead of the 10 seconds or less thats normal...you may have to reflash the bios..not something I would normally recommend because if you screw it up ..you would then have a expensive doorstop..
  • 0

#20
Snowdiver

Snowdiver

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 31 posts
I ran the tests and my score was 1260
  • 0

#21
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
can you go back to the results page and then copy the address (url) and paste it in your next reply..
  • 0

#22
Snowdiver

Snowdiver

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 31 posts
http://pcpitstop.com...?conid=20265457
  • 0

#23
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
you need to get to your results page...then copy the link...
the link you posted is for me to take the tests...
  • 0

#24
Snowdiver

Snowdiver

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 31 posts
Hopefully this is it.

http://pcpitstop.com...iledSummary.asp
  • 0

#25
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
nope
  • 0

Advertisements


#26
Snowdiver

Snowdiver

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 31 posts
This one?

http://www.pcpitstop...7G4TW83RUGSX8X9
  • 0

#27
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
this will not help with the slow bootup...
Amazing as it seems, this computer is optimized for a dial up modem. Furthermore, it is not possible to achieve your broadband providers top speeds without adjusting your internet settings.
go here and get .. The TCP Optimizer is a free, easy Windows program that provides an intuitive interface for tuning and optimizing your Internet connection. There is no installation required, just download and run.

try going into the bios and set it to the default or safe settings..
no joy
you should have someone flash your bios for you and test your power supply

Edited by happyrck, 11 May 2008 - 06:51 PM.

  • 0

#28
Snowdiver

Snowdiver

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 31 posts
I reflashed the BIOS and it still boots slow. Do you really think it is the power supply? If I leave it on you wouldn't know anything is wrong. That is not the solution. I did run the TCP Optimizer.

Edited by Snowdiver, 12 May 2008 - 10:29 PM.

  • 0

#29
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
you have replaced the mobo battery..
reflashed the bios...I assume using the latest bios...
made sure the hard drive is using dma mode...
run chckdsk...and its not showing any errors...
you say after a 10 minute boot time it runs normally
this leaves bad memory or the power supply has issues...
run memtest for 4 hours

lets make sure its not your memory going bad...get memtest + here....
the lowdown is here...

if you have a floppy drive you can get the 6th one down ...set the bios to boot from the floppy drive A: first...then the cd drive then the Hard drive C:
or you can get the 2nd one down and burn the ISO file to a cd and then boot it from the cd drive...let memtest run for at least 4 hours...if it starts showing any errors during that time then you will have to replace the RAM...no errors after 4 hours just press Esc to end the tests and we will try some other tests

Edited by happyrck, 13 May 2008 - 08:30 AM.

  • 0

#30
Snowdiver

Snowdiver

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 31 posts
I used the latest BIOS, HD is in DMA mode. I ran memtest for 4:15, 9 passes zero errors. I used the second one down.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP