Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

$1700 Laptop challenge

• Please log in to reply

upbb4884

upbb4884

• Pip
  • 3 posts
Hello, I come here seeking help. I need a new computer. My current computer just will not make the grade anymore(it has 256MB of RAM! The dinosaur is screaming as I type this!). I am a poor college student who needs to build a laptop that cost $1700 or less. I will be using this laptop for gaming mostly, however, I will be doing some of my college work on it. I know cheap and gaming do not go together, but I heard you guys and gals here would help me. Keep in mind I do not need a uber laptop, just a computer that can run. I do not know that much about computers, so I do not know if I can build one(can you even personally build a laptop?). If you post anything that can help me, I wish of you to provide me a link. Thank you in advance for any help you can afford me.

Advertisements

Caffeine_Powered

Caffeine_Powered

• PipPipPip
  • 475 posts
Well I'm not sure if I'm allowed to respond to people in this board. but since I to was looking for a laptop for college and gaming, I thought I'd bring up a Gateway laptop that's on sale at American Best Buy's (I think Canada too but I'm not sure).

It's from the Gateway P Series, The Gateway P-6860FX. The only "draw back" would be the processor's clock speed but that's only a "draw back" because it's dwarfed by everything else.

Intel® Core™2 Duo Mobile @ 1.83ghz
4GB RAM
8800m GTS
Screen's 1440 x 900

for 1349.99