Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Tearing my hair out over motherboard issue. HELP!

• Please log in to reply

commie

commie

• PipPip
  • 10 posts
Ok guys, here we go.

I have an Asus A8N SLI Deluxe. A while ago, the chipset fan (northbridge I suppose) died, which is a common problem for this motherboard. Being a novice, I put it off and put it off, until my computer just konked out, giving me a long beep followed my 2 short beeps.

This warning indicates anything from overheating to improperly installed equipment.

Now, I assume it was the chip overheating, because I saw that the heatsink that was attached to the dead fan actually fell off of the motherboard.

So, I bought a new chipfan, affixed it to the heatsink, and reattached the heatsink with its new fan on my motherboard.

This worked, or so I thought.

Programs, specifically my counterstrike and nero burning tool will not work properly. CS starts, but when I go to join a server, it gets stuck, at which point I can't alt-tab out of the program and have to reboot. Nero pretends to start, but freezes after its splash screen and doesn't do anything. The processes for both of these programs continue to run, but I cannot force them close.

Now, I was told by another Geek that the issue could be caused either by a short or an overheating. Now, with the heatsink, new fan, arctic silver, and casing off, there is NO way the chip is overheating. When I ran speedfan, the program temped the chip at 48 C.

So, the only conclusion is that this is a short, but from WHERE?