Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

LAN not working to full potential

• Please log in to reply

Thrak Farelle

Thrak Farelle

• Pip
  • 3 posts
Hey I'm new to GtG and this is my first post

I checked through about 50 or so posts before I realised that maybe no one has had my issue recently, or maybe I'm just missing something.
Anyway recently my LAN was just set up between 2 computers, an older one that had been running fine when LAN'ed to another computer and a newer one, that we only just recently received of an uncle of mine.

The newer one is more powerful while the older is weaker and to start with we had the issue that has been fixed many times in this forum, Limited or no connectivity. We used static IP addresses changed around a couple of LAN cards and got them connecting. They still connect, by definition, now but the newer computer doesn't seem to receive enough data from the older to make it of any use.

Old:
Sent 29k
Received 37k

New:
Sent 170
Received 114

This is from them both being on the same amount of time, at the same time, and not reseting or messing with the connection.

Example. Warcraft III LAN games, either computer can set up but the game wont show up for the other computer unless they leave the LAN games Menu.

Network adapters they are using
Old: VIA PCI 10/100mb Fast Ethernet Adapter
New: Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethernet NIC