Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Some super nooby Questions for first builder

• Please log in to reply

Intruder_1400

Intruder_1400

• PipPip
  • 34 posts
Background:
I have always wanted to build my own PC. It seems to be a big waste of money to buy a premade system that is you can not continue to upgrade. I am a complete Novice on PC building but I am looking forward to the challenge and learning some new things. My current PC is dead. It has a fried MB but every thing else still works. It is loaded with XP SP2

Rant:
It seems, to me at least, that much more people would build there own PC systems if the language was just a tad easier to comprehend :) . For example Graphics cards come with like 6 or 7 different names. GT, GTX. GS :) etc. Trying to figure out what one is best for your own personal build is intimidating to say the least. I think they would sell many more PC components and make much more money if they simply spoke in simpler terms.

I am trying to decide what operating system, MoBo, and CPU to buy. I would like to be able to transfer some old files (pictures and home movies, documents) to the new computer and ?maybe? use my old 200 GB HD as a slave? Besides that I would something that will continue to be upgradable for a few years.

I have been browsing this forum for a few days and it sounds like you guys are all pretty bright. I would love to know you thoughts.

Forgot to add purpose.