Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

explorer.exe error on XP


  • Please log in to reply

#16
Artellos

Artellos

    Tech Secretary

  • Global Moderator
  • 3,888 posts
What sort of computer is it? Custom Built or a PC bought from a company like Dell or HP?

Regards,
Olrik
  • 0

Advertisements


#17
danieljr1992

danieljr1992

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts

What sort of computer is it? Custom Built or a PC bought from a company like Dell or HP?

Regards,
Olrik

i bought it. everything was put on it and i don't remember a driver disk. I'm pretty sure i don't have one but if i know what it's called i might be able to find it (if i have it)
  • 0

#18
Artellos

Artellos

    Tech Secretary

  • Global Moderator
  • 3,888 posts
Some shops also put the drivers on the second drive. (Most commonly D:\)
The drivers you're looking for are for firewire.
I might ask another tech staff to take a look here at the other 2 errors.

Regards,
Olrik
  • 0

#19
danieljr1992

danieljr1992

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts

Some shops also put the drivers on the second drive. (Most commonly D:\)
The drivers you're looking for are for firewire.
I might ask another tech staff to take a look here at the other 2 errors.

Regards,
Olrik


ta man. I'll look for it while your doing that
  • 0

#20
Artellos

Artellos

    Tech Secretary

  • Global Moderator
  • 3,888 posts
Open start and hit "run"
in the runbox type "cmd"
While in the black box type "chkdsk"
Everything between quotations is to be typed without the quotation.

Regards,
Olrik

Edited by Artellos, 05 June 2008 - 06:10 AM.

  • 0

#21
danieljr1992

danieljr1992

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
errors found. CHKDSK cannot continue in read-only mode.
  • 0

#22
wannabe1

wannabe1

    Tech Staff

  • Technician
  • 16,645 posts
Let's try running the disk check another way...

Boot from the Windows XP installation CD.

At the "Welcome to Setup" screen, press R to start Recovery Console.

Choose the installation to be repaired by number (usually 1) and press "Enter".

When you are asked for the Administrator password, leave it blank and press "Enter".

At the command prompt, type chkdsk /r and press "Enter". (Note the space before /r) The disk check operation will start.

This will be a very thorough check of the hard drive and the file system...be patient and let it complete. It may appear to hang or even back up a few times...this is normal. 60 to 90 minutes is not unusual for this check...it may take longer in some cases.

Once the check completes and you are back at the command prompt, type exit and press "Enter". Let your computer boot normally to Windows.
  • 0

#23
danieljr1992

danieljr1992

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
ok i did that disk check thing. it said it fixed some errors but my explorer.exe problem still remains. I'm beginning to think if it's a virus or not. my trend micro hasn't picked anything up but i did a panda activescan and it found a high risk thing but i can't get rid of it without paying... so I'm a bit stuck
  • 0

#24
danieljr1992

danieljr1992

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
Nothing has worked and it's becoming very annoying and more regular. after the explorer.exe error comes up a drwtsn32.exe error comes up and my desktop disappears and i have to open up a program then go to save as then right click and go to explore before it comes back up again.

Really would like a solution as it's getting quite irritating now =(
Thanks guys. You've been really good so far.
  • 0

#25
Artellos

Artellos

    Tech Secretary

  • Global Moderator
  • 3,888 posts
If the panda scan has found a high risk I Suggest you take your log to the malware doctors found in this forum.
Please make sure that you read this before posting anything in the malware forum.

If you're still having problems after the malware doctors declare your log clean feel free to post back here and we'll help you to the best of our knowledge! :)

Regards,
Olrik
  • 0

Advertisements


#26
danieljr1992

danieljr1992

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
sorry man but where's my log? in the panda scan or my PC?
  • 0

#27
Artellos

Artellos

    Tech Secretary

  • Global Moderator
  • 3,888 posts

Please make sure that you read this before posting anything in the malware forum.


Follow that link and the instructions :)
Good Luck!

Regards,
Olrik
  • 0

#28
danieljr1992

danieljr1992

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
MY PROBLEM IS FIXED!!!!!!!! still going through some system stuff with your system checking guys but i don't have the problem anymore. thanks a lot Olrik and wannabe1 for your help. I'll definitely come back to you guys first if i ever get a problem. You saved me a lot of stress and money if i had to get someone in to look at it. Thankyou so much. :)

THANKS!
Daniel
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP