Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Router to Router Problem


  • Please log in to reply

#31
lz22

lz22

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 32 posts
I am not sure what you mean by the 2 papers on it. But the error itself is
Level | Date & Time | Source | Event ID | None
Error | 6/2/2008 4:36:10PM | Dhcp-Client | 1002 | None
The IP address lease 192.168.1.41 for the Network Card with network address 001D093EC3EB has been denied by the DHCP server 192.168.1.1 (The DHCP Server sent a DHCPNACK message).
  • 0

Advertisements


#32
Artellos

Artellos

    Tech Secretary

  • Global Moderator
  • 3,888 posts
I'll do some more research tomorrow. It's 11:00 for me now so I'm heading off to bed.
DHCPNACK has to do with the fact that the DHCP server denies you an IP-address.
You can try to set a static IP address "192.168.1.41".
You can also ask your neighbour the DHCP pool and pick an IP address that's outside of the pool so you don't create conflicts on the network.

Regards,
Olrik
  • 0

#33
lz22

lz22

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 32 posts
Thanks alot, appreciate your time.
  • 0

#34
Artellos

Artellos

    Tech Secretary

  • Global Moderator
  • 3,888 posts
If you have your connection.
Can you follow the steps below.
  • Go to Start -> Run.
  • In the Box, type in "cmd".
  • A black box will appear. Type in: "tracert www.google.com"
  • A lot of information will appear, Please right click the black window and hit mark.
  • Select every line of text you recieved and hit "enter" to copy.
  • Then paste it into your next reply.

Regards,
Olrik
  • 0

#35
lz22

lz22

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 32 posts
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
Copyright © 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\LLLZ>tracert www.google.com"

Tracing route to www.l.google.com [64.233.169.104]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms dslrouter [192.168.1.1]
2 34 ms 33 ms 33 ms 10.32.107.1
3 33 ms 33 ms 33 ms ge-1-2-0-0.CORE-RTR2.NY325.verizon-gni.net [130.
81.11.53]
4 33 ms 33 ms 33 ms 130.81.20.178
5 32 ms 33 ms 31 ms 0.so-3-2-0.XL4.NYC4.ALTER.NET [152.63.9.249]
6 32 ms 34 ms 33 ms 0.ge-7-1-0.BR3.NYC4.ALTER.NET [152.63.3.170]
7 33 ms 33 ms 32 ms te-10-2-0.edge2.NewYork2.level3.net [4.68.110.23
3]
8 37 ms 35 ms 35 ms vlan99.csw4.NewYork1.Level3.net [4.68.16.254]
9 33 ms 34 ms 33 ms ae-94-94.ebr4.NewYork1.Level3.net [4.69.134.125]

10 52 ms 52 ms 38 ms ae-3.ebr4.Washington1.Level3.net [4.69.132.93]
11 43 ms 39 ms 49 ms ae-74-74.csw2.Washington1.Level3.net [4.69.134.1
82]
12 40 ms 40 ms 39 ms ae-2-79.edge1.Washington1.Level3.net [4.68.17.80
]
13 40 ms 41 ms 40 ms GOOGLE-INC.edge1.Washington1.Level3.net [4.79.23
1.6]
14 41 ms 40 ms 42 ms 64.233.175.171
15 43 ms 43 ms 45 ms 216.239.49.145
16 40 ms 114 ms 40 ms yo-in-f104.google.com [64.233.169.104]

Trace complete.

C:\Users\LLLZ>
  • 0

#36
Artellos

Artellos

    Tech Secretary

  • Global Moderator
  • 3,888 posts
It's been a while :)

Have you tried setting a static address?

Regards,
Olrik
  • 0

#37
lz22

lz22

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 32 posts
Good morning. I have not tried setting a static address. Care to walk me through it?

You mean trying to enter random IPs until one of them work under Properties of Network and Sharing Center?

Edited by lz22, 14 June 2008 - 07:25 AM.

  • 0

#38
Artellos

Artellos

    Tech Secretary

  • Global Moderator
  • 3,888 posts
Good morning :)
Of course.

Go to your control panel and open "Network Connections".
There, right click your "Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection" and select "properties"
In the small list, scroll down to "TCP/IP" and double click.
Then instead of assigning it automatically set it manually with the following settings.
IPv4 Address 192.168.1.41
Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway 192.168.1.1
DNS 192.168.1.1

This could be slightly different as you have vista (right?).
If this is way off and you can't find it I'll find a guide. (this was from the top of my head.)

Regards,
Olrik
  • 0

#39
lz22

lz22

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 32 posts
Just tested that, still disconnecting :-(
  • 0

#40
Artellos

Artellos

    Tech Secretary

  • Global Moderator
  • 3,888 posts
Have you had any contact with your neighbor about this?
Is he having disconnecting problems as well?
Was I right with saying the laptop was vista?
Do you know how old the router is?

Regards,
Olrik
  • 0

Advertisements


#41
lz22

lz22

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 32 posts
The only one disconnecting is the laptop. His computers and my desktop is fine.
The laptop was connected directly to his router, without the hub and desktop. I figure if I can't get that to work, I couldn't get it to work with a hub between the router and the laptop.

Yes the laptop is vista.
I am unsure about the age of the router, I will try to find out.
  • 0

#42
Artellos

Artellos

    Tech Secretary

  • Global Moderator
  • 3,888 posts
Take a look at the Microsoft article below.
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/932134

Older routers don't support certain features with vista, I had the same issue in my home :)

Regards,
Olrik
  • 0

#43
lz22

lz22

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 32 posts
Interesting article, so basically there is no way to solve this problem?
I mean I did manage to connect for a couple of hours without interruption before. :-(
  • 0

#44
Artellos

Artellos

    Tech Secretary

  • Global Moderator
  • 3,888 posts
If the router is old enough that would be the problem. You can try using the tool in the article to check.
If the tool does say it isn't compatible then maybe you can make a deal with your neighbor saying you each pay 50/50.
I mean one day your neighbor will need to replace his router, maybe this is the right time?

Regards,
Olrik
  • 0

#45
lz22

lz22

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 32 posts
Yeah, I guess that's the problem. I tested the laptop at 2 other locations with relatively new routers, within 1-2 years of purchase date and it worked flawlessly. Thanks for troubleshooting this problem with me.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP