Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Please help- Computer keeps crashing!


  • Please log in to reply

#1
BReal59

BReal59

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 135 posts
hi there- can someone help me please?
i am using a Windows XP system with Service Pack 2. Recently my computer has been randomly shutting down/crashing unexpectedley and goes into the blue screen with the notice:
'A problem has been detected and windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer.'
STOP: (0xFFFE8080, 0x00000002, 0x00000001, 0x806EB2DC)

I have tried using the Tune Up Utillities program as well as CCleaner, AMust Registry Cleaner, Disk Cleanup,Disk Deframentator and AVG Anti-Spyware but I am still getting the same problems.

I would be grateful for any help.
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
Bad computer memory is one of the three main reasons for random system failures.. the other two are heat (usually

caused by fans or heatsinks being blocked with dust) or power issues...
first...

lets make sure its not your memory going bad...get memtest +

here....
the lowdown is here..

if you have a floppy drive you can get the 6th one down ...set the bios to boot from the floppy drive A:

first...then the cd drive then the Hard drive C:
or you can get the 2nd one down and burn the ISO file to a cd and then boot it from the cd drive...

if you don't have a burning program that will burn .ISO files go

here and get burncdcc ..a small FAST no frills iso

burning program...

NOTE...do not put a blank cd in until burncdcc opens the tray for you
1. Start BurnCDCC
2. Browse to the ISO file you want to burn on cd/dvd ....in this case its memtest86.iso
3. Select the ISO file
4. click on Start

make sure in the bios the cd drive is the first boot device....put the cd in the cd drive..boot your computer....


let memtest run for at least 2 hours...if it starts showing any errors during that time then you will have

to replace the RAM...no errors after 2 hours just press Esc to end the tests and we will try some other

tests


go here and get everest home...install and

launch it...click the + by computer...click on sensor...get a screenshot and post it so I can check your temps and

voltages...
  • 0

#3
BReal59

BReal59

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 135 posts
hi
thanks for your advice.
So, i installed and ran the memtest86 program after booting the computer and ran the program for two hours. After six passes it detected no errors. However, when I rebooted the system it began to crash/shut down a couple of times.
everest.JPG
  • 0

#4
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
your heat looks good and so does the voltage EXCEPT THE CPU...if you have overclocked the cpu ...go back to the default settings...same for any overclocking you have done...
go here and get CPU-Z 1.45...post a screenshot of the cpu spec's
  • 0

#5
BReal59

BReal59

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 135 posts
thanks for your message.
how do you overclock the CPU to begin with? and how do you go back to the default settings?- do you advise to go back to the default settings?

Attached Thumbnails

  • cpu.JPG

  • 0

#6
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
yes try the default settings...
look in your bios...find where it says default settings or safe settings...usually F5 but read the screens to be sure...
after you have it set press F10 usually to save the new settings and exit...again read the screen to make sure this is correct for your computers bios..
also look in the device manager for any yellow ! or red....

Windows XP is set by default to reboot your computer when it hits a critical error. For most users I suppose this is a good thing, as no one likes to see the BSOD (blue screen of death). But in this case, we actually WANT to see the BSOD because it contains some useful information in diagnosing the problem. In order to force your computer to show you the BSOD, need to tell it to stop auto restarting on critical errors.

Right-click...My Computer... and then click ...Properties...
Click the ..Advanced tab...
Under Startup and Recovery.. click ..Settings... to open the Startup and Recovery dialog box....
Clear the ..Automatically restart.. check box, and click OK the necessary number of times...

Restart your computer for the settings to take effect....

Edited by happyrck, 05 June 2008 - 08:20 PM.

  • 0

#7
BReal59

BReal59

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 135 posts
i have not changed the CPU overclocking settings but can it change by itself? im not sure what the default settings were for the cpu, how do i find out?
i could not find the ''restore default settings'' option on the BIOS but they had a ''Load Optimized Defaults'' option- should i use that?

Edited by BReal59, 06 June 2008 - 05:31 AM.

  • 0

#8
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
Go into the BIOS and go to the Exit menu window. The last one. Highlight "Load Set-up Defaults"
could you use cpu z and tthis time click on the mainboard tab and get a screenshot for me..
  • 0

#9
BReal59

BReal59

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 135 posts
cpu motherboard tab

sorry that i took awhile to reply, i was having problems sending a message.

Attached Thumbnails

  • cpumotherboard.JPG
  • cpumotherboard.JPG

Edited by BReal59, 06 June 2008 - 04:35 PM.

  • 0

#10
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
go here and get everest home 1.51...
I need more info on the motherboard...click on the motherboard icon and get a screenshot
  • 0

Advertisements


#11
BReal59

BReal59

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 135 posts
motherboard screen shot

Attached Thumbnails

  • motherboard.JPG

  • 0

#12
BReal59

BReal59

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 135 posts
on the most recent computer crash/shutdown the bsod gave the following information:

Driver_Irql_not_less_or_equal
STOP: 0x000000D1 (0xFFFFFFE8, 0x00000002, 0x00000001, 0xF8045A50)
NVENET.sys- Address F8045A50 base at F8039000, Datestamp 4018c83c,
Beginning dump of Physical Memory
Physical memory dump complete.

I am not able to load the set up defaults in the exit menu on the BIOS because it does not have that option. I have the load optimized defaults option- should i select that?

Edited by BReal59, 07 June 2008 - 05:38 AM.

  • 0

#13
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
YEP...
also access Device Manager...


Right click My Computer... click Manage... and then click Device Manager.
do you have any yellow ! or ? any red X's...if so get a screenshot for me

then
open up ... Control Panel ... Administrative Tools ... Event Viewer...
Click on System and you'll see a list of system events....
Errors will be marked with a red X or a yellow exclamation mark.
Double click on the error and you'll see details that may help us figure out the problem..
tell me what the errors are

also go here and get this driver...its related to your last error
I attached your mobo manual for the future

Edited by happyrck, 07 June 2008 - 10:20 AM.

  • 0

#14
BReal59

BReal59

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 135 posts
Event Viewer
red x- Source-DCOM Event ID:1005
Description:
DCOM got error ''the service cannot be started, either because it is disabled or because it has no enabled devices associated with it.''
attempting to start the service uphost with arguments. ''

I checked the device manager and there was nothing that had any errors.
  • 0

#15
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
did you install the driver...
did you set the bios to optimized ...
I see you haven't downloaded your manual yet...I am going to delete it off my system..GET IT WHILE YOU CAN

also try this...
go to start...run...type in services.msc..scroll down to DCOM...set to automatic...

in the future please tell if you tried what I asked you to do and what if anything happened..

Edited by happyrck, 07 June 2008 - 11:39 AM.

  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP