Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

COMPUTER BUILDING - HELP

• Please log in to reply

georgethomas

georgethomas

• Pip
  • 4 posts
Hi All,

I have a ASUS striker II Extreme 790i ultra SLi motherboard and a QUAD CORE 6600 CPU.

I would like to build a PC, I am new at it.

I would be grateful if anyone here would help me out.

I would like to know what all I have to buy

1) RAM? DDR3 - which one ? wat rating
2) PSU - how much Max watts
3) What Case?

Kindly help me out?

Advertisements

Troy

Troy

Tech Staff

• Technician
  • 8,841 posts
Hi there,

Welcome to Geeks to Go!

You have not mentioned what your uses for this computer will be, or how much $$$ you are looking to spend (i.e. budget). Here are some thoughts for you to consider:
  • There are many different types of RAM. Your motherboard supports DDR3 @1333MHz natively, so I would choose a set of this. Here is a link to a Patriot example. This is a 4GB kit.
  • A power supply will depend on the overall configuration of your system. There's no point recommending a 500W unit if you intend to run SLI 9800GTX's, as the power requirements would be more than 500W for this setup.
  • Cases usually come down to personal preference. You would need to find one that supports the ATX Form Factor. Antec, Coolermaster, Thermaltake, Silverstone, and a few others make really nice cases in my opinion.
And don't forget, when you're building a new system, that you have all components ready to go! Here's what you will need:
  • Case
  • Motherboard (ASUS Striker II Extreme)
  • CPU (Q6600)
  • RAM