Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Some help with Wireless Network!

• Please log in to reply

BeckieLouise

BeckieLouise

• Pip
  • 3 posts
Hey guys,

OK, I've been using my wireless internet fine for the last 6 months plus. Then today, for some reason, it stopped working entirely. I'm using a Dell Inspiron 510m laptop, with an Intel Pro/Wireless LAN 2100 3A Mini PCI Adapater. I'm using Sky Broadband, and if I connect using the wires it works fine. Similarly, the wireless works fine on the other laptop, so I'm guessing it's not the connection. Sometimes, it can find my network in the list of networks, but it won't let me connect to it. Nothing happens when I click to "repair" the connection. Stranger still, my computer is completely slowed down whilst it apparently is searching for the network, and nothing works properly until I click to disable the network.

I'm not exactly great with technology, so any help (in relatively simplistic terms) would be really really appreciated!! I'm really getting frustrated with it!

Thank you!!

Beckie x

Advertisements

Gravity Gripp

Gravity Gripp

Trusted Helper

• Malware Removal
  • 1,815 posts
Beckie, let me first welcome you to Geeks-To-Go :)

Secondly, it sounds like you might be having a hardware issue with the wireless adapter. However, the first thing i think we should try here is to update the driver for the card.

Download the driver here: Dell Link and then follow these instructions

1.Double-click the new icon on the desktop labeled R105328.EXE.