Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

New PC building Help

• Please log in to reply

georgethomas

georgethomas

• Pip
  • 4 posts
Hi,

Sorry for asking such dumb questions, as I am new to all this. I would be glad if some one could help me out.

I have

ASUS Striker II Extreme LGA775 Motherboard, nForce 790i Ultra SLI, mobo.

Case - Thermaltake Armour + VH6000BWS series ( http://www.thermalta...a.com/Product.a ... =1408#Tab0)

And a Corsair HX 1000 watt sli ready PSU. - ATX 24 pin & 20 pin compatible & EPS/ATX12V 8-4 pin
(http://www.corsairme...cts/hx1000.aspx)

evga 9800gx2 card

1) It says that the power is supplied to the Striker II Extreme through just two connections - the 24-pin ATX connection, and the 8-pin EATX power -

so I should be connecting the ATX 24 pin from the corsair psu to the 24 pin input of motherboard,

then as you can see in the picture there is the ATX 12V on the motherboard, it has 8 pins however 4 pins are covered with a black plastic
- what should I be doing? should I be detaching the 4 pins out of the 8 pins from the corsair psu and insert 4 pins into the motherboard or remove the plastic covering from the 8 pin ATX and connect the 8 Pin from PSU.

2) There are 8 fan connection points on the Mobo,
out of which one is the CPU fan, but with the rest I am confused.

a) There is a POWER FAN , what is a power fan?, and which is this fan in an unit ?