Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

New comp. what do u think?

• Please log in to reply

Vitto

Vitto

• Pip
  • 3 posts
Well this is my first attempt on building a computer, what do u guys think?;

Power Supply: Ultra X-Pro ULT40029 750 WATT
Case: Antec nine hundred steel ATX Mid tower
Motherboard: Asus maximus extreme
CPU: Intel core 2 duo Q6600
Video card: Diamond Viper Radeon HD 3870 512MB
CDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST3500320AS 500GB
RAM: Crucial CT2KIT25664BA1067 DDR3 (4gb kit, x2 2gb)
DVD reader: Plextor PX-810SA/IBP-BL DVD Super Multi Drive

Well not quite sure on the DVD reader, video card and RAM (very expensive).
The power supply not quite sure too and I dont really know if to buy a water cooling system or just buy something cheaper like the Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme CPU Cooler.

Is it a good combo? please give me lots of answer Thx :)

Advertisements

SRX660

SRX660

motto - Just get-er-done

• Technician
  • 4,345 posts
I think ultra power supplys are cheap. Better to get a Enermax 620 like this one. Unless you are going to upgrade quite a bit you really don't even need 600 watts of power.

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16817194005

Or maybe a PC Power and Cooling unit.
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16817194005