Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

New Gaming PC

• Please log in to reply

magix

magix

• PipPip
  • 10 posts
Hi there, I'm looking to build a gaming system that can run things such as COD4 smoothly, but I have a tight budget. I'm looking to only spend around the $600 mark, and I'm uncertain if it's even possible to build a machine capable of such things at this price :). Anyways if it is, where should I start? I've never built a computer before, so I'm a bit stuck. Thanks for any help you can give me!

Advertisements

Radatat

Radatat

• Pip
  • 8 posts
newegg.com is a good place to start looking for parts. they usually have fairly cheap prices and offer reviews and ratings on hardware.

Ningen

Ningen

• Pip
  • 8 posts
newegg.com is best bet if you know what your doing if not I hate to say this but Wal-Mart has some alright machines for 600 bucks like this: An ok walmart computer i think the 3100 gma can handle cod4. It handels wow ok and i play cod4 on one of my machines with a nvidia 6150 and its ok

Troy

Troy

Tech Staff

• Technician
  • 8,841 posts
Hi there,

I made this list not too long ago at all, so I'll copy and paste it here for your reference. This would be a good start, it's from a $500 build thread, but doesn't include keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers, or OS:

Hi there,

If you're looking for a tower only (no monitor, keyboard, mouse, speakers, or OS), then it can be done. If you are needing any of these components as well, then it's going to be cut real tight!