Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works

Dantz Retrospect

  • Please log in to reply



    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
I recently restored my R31 laptop with an IBM preload, and correspondingly updated my drivers and software with IBM website (and Microsoft).

My network administrator uses Dantz Retrospect to backup the client computers. Since the restore, he cannot access my computer but cannot see any backup volumes (i.e. my hard drive).

He believes the problem lies with my reload. However, the restore is the same image of the laptop when it shipped from IBM, and the updated drivers worked with the backup server before.

Does anyone have any ideas? I've tried reinstalling my network card and such, but he wants me to redo the restore (??). That doesn't make any sense to me. By the way, I have full network functionality in every other capacity (even tried turning off the windows firewall--which shouldn't impact it--which obviously did not help.

THank you for any help you can provide.
  • 0




    Member 2k

  • Retired Staff
  • 2,678 posts
Hopefully you have XP Professional, if you do then go to the unaccessible folders and right click on them. Click "Sharing and Security" click the "Security" tab, click the "Advanced" button and click the "Owner" tab. You now need to take ownership of the files and folders from before. They only have permissions for the old owner (with administrator priveledges) and now you need to transfer that to the new owner (you). Even though it was you before, the computer thinks you're someone different since the reinstall. Good luck, especially if you're using Home Edition, I don't think I have any advice there :tazz:

-=jonnyrotten=- ;)
  • 0

Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP