Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

random PC restarts cant figure out problem..


  • Please log in to reply

#16
Kat

Kat

    Retired

  • Retired Staff
  • 19,711 posts
  • MVP
Why we have trainees in this thread discussing Malware problems is beyond me. You BOTH know that you cannot do so. :)

To the original poster: PLEASE disregard any advice given by Trainees in this thread, as they are not yet qualified to discuss this issue.

If you have a malware issue, that needs to be addressed in the malware forum BEFORE addressing hardware issues.
  • 0

Advertisements


#17
Artellos

Artellos

    Tech Secretary

  • Global Moderator
  • 3,888 posts
Doesn't sound like malware to me.
First, let me ask you a few questions:
  • Does your computer still give those long beep codes?
  • You didn't report voltages, can you please report those?

After that lets see if you have any errors in the event viewer.
  • Go to Start -> Run.
  • In the Box, type in "eventvwr".
  • When the window pops up. Go to the system log and application log.
  • Look for red circles with "X"s in them around the time of error.
  • Once you've opened the error press the button to the right with the 2 papers on it. (under the 'down' arrow)
  • Please attach the information you just copied onto your next reply.

Regards,
Olrik
  • 0

#18
chevvok

chevvok

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
there is no keykey.sys in my drivers directory...

my PC still does give those beep codes sometimes but not all the time..

my PC never restarted for 2 days so far every since i left my PC case open. maybe it is overheating... it does make sense though since the technician put in a new fan. this new fan is probably a cheapo or something.

in event viewer there are several errors.

1. says UPS which i believe is something to do with the power and it says "not configered properly".
2. the rest are from "service control manager" and says something about telephony service is disabled. i disabled it myself though since i dont use dial up.
  • 0

#19
Artellos

Artellos

    Tech Secretary

  • Global Moderator
  • 3,888 posts
Can you follow the steps and copy them please? :)
We want details to be able to do our research and be able to assist you.

The continues long beeps indicate a memory problem (as The Skeptic first pointed out).
Also, can you attach the voltages from EVEREST?

Regards,
Olrik
  • 0

#20
Mr Freeze

Mr Freeze

    Member

  • Banned
  • PipPipPip
  • 321 posts
please download and run everest.....
right click on + computer then click on summary
copy and paste the information here
need to see what type of motherboard

http://filehippo.com...d_everest_home/

or download and run bel arc advisor

http://www.belarc.com/ba5.html?B

click on download
once it analyzes your system please post only from virus protection up to system model
be sure not posts software licenses it will show passwords and product keys
need to see what type of motherboard and make model number of computer
so the information can be looked up to determine the correct RAM for your computer
  • 0

#21
chevvok

chevvok

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
okay here is my summery.. note that i added another stick of ram today to my 1gb module also.. its a 512mb pc2-5300 module just like my 1gb module.

Field Value
Computer
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Professional
OS Service Pack Service Pack 3
DirectX 4.09.00.0904 (DirectX 9.0c)
Computer Name SAIOKE-D1B1BA2F
User Name josh

Motherboard
CPU Type Intel Pentium 4 630, 3000 MHz (15 x 200)
Motherboard Name Dell Dell DM051
Motherboard Chipset Intel Lakeport-G i945G
System Memory 1536 MB (DDR2-667 DDR2 SDRAM)
BIOS Type Phoenix (01/08/07)

Display
Video Adapter NVIDIA GeForce 7600 GT (256 MB)
Monitor IBM 6540 G42 [14" CRT] (23-D6578)

Multimedia
Audio Adapter Intel 82801GB ICH7 - High Definition Audio Controller [A-1]

Storage
IDE Controller Intel® 82801G (ICH7 Family) Ultra ATA Storage Controllers - 27DF
IDE Controller Intel® 82801GB/GR/GH (ICH7 Family) Serial ATA Storage Controller - 27C0
SCSI/RAID Controller AMZLQ4WC IDE Controller
Disk Drive ST380819AS (74 GB, IDE)
Disk Drive WDC WD400BB-75JHC0 (37 GB, IDE)
Optical Drive QL1236O KLK174W SCSI CdRom Device
Optical Drive TSSTcorp CDRWDVD TS-H492C
SMART Hard Disks Status OK

Partitions
C: (NTFS) 76285 MB (18293 MB free)
F: (NTFS) 38138 MB (13664 MB free)
Total Size 111.7 GB (31.2 GB free)

Input
Keyboard HID Keyboard Device
Mouse HID-compliant mouse

Network
Network Adapter Intel® PRO/100 VE Network Connection (ip removed..)

Peripherals
USB1 Controller Intel 82801GB ICH7 - USB Universal Host Controller [A-1]
USB1 Controller Intel 82801GB ICH7 - USB Universal Host Controller [A-1]
USB1 Controller Intel 82801GB ICH7 - USB Universal Host Controller [A-1]
USB1 Controller Intel 82801GB ICH7 - USB Universal Host Controller [A-1]
USB2 Controller Intel 82801GB ICH7 - Enhanced USB2 Controller [A-1]
USB Device USB Human Interface Device
USB Device USB Human Interface Device


here are my temperatures (with case opened)

Field Value
Sensor Properties
Sensor Type HDD
GPU Sensor Type Driver (NV-DRV)

Temperatures
GPU 45 °C (113 °F)
WDC WD400BB-75JHC0 39 °C (102 °F)
Seagate ST380819AS 38 °C (100 °F)


sorry but i cannot locate my volts in everest :).

Edited by chevvok, 28 June 2008 - 09:54 PM.

  • 0

#22
Mr Freeze

Mr Freeze

    Member

  • Banned
  • PipPipPip
  • 321 posts
on this site it indicates 4200

http://www.smmdirect...50C_MC54681.cfm

it also indicates here

http://www.memory-up...nsion14178.html

so if you have the ram 4200 put them in

but they need to be in pairs
of same kind

your beeps you mentioned

also, sometimes my PC will shut down and give a system beep message (1 long, 3 long, 2 long) and cant figure it out...

they are not 1 long 3 short 2 long

there is so much info on the motherboard
it states 4200
4300
5300
so if you know it was 4200
thats what i would go back to using
just try 1 gig of ram not more
do you have video card installed
it to has its own ram try removing the video card and change the video defaults in the bios
or make sure the video configurations are correct in the bios
  • 0

#23
dredme

dredme

    Banned Spammer

  • Banned
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
SPAM!

Edited by __RiP_ChAiN_, 29 June 2008 - 02:53 AM.

  • 0

#24
Artellos

Artellos

    Tech Secretary

  • Global Moderator
  • 3,888 posts
I would like you to follow the exact steps so we can look into more detail.
  • Go to Start -> Run.
  • In the Box, type in "eventvwr".
  • When the window pops up. Go to the system log and application log.
  • Look for red circles with "X"s in them around the time of error.
  • Once you've opened the error press the button to the right with the 2 papers on it. (under the 'down' arrow)
  • Please attach the information you just copied onto your next reply.

your beeps you mentioned

also, sometimes my PC will shut down and give a system beep message (1 long, 3 long, 2 long) and cant figure it out...

they are not 1 long 3 short 2 long

I'm not sure what Mr Freeze is trying to say here. Was that meant as a question or a statement?
I think the following beep code applies (like The Skeptic also pointed out in the first post)
  • Repeated Long Beeps: Memory Error

Have you tried setting your BIOS to default settings chevvok?

Regards,
Olrik
  • 0

#25
Mr Freeze

Mr Freeze

    Member

  • Banned
  • PipPipPip
  • 321 posts
heres some info on memory code beeps

http://www.pchell.co...beepcodes.shtml

http://www.techadvic.../B/BeepCode.htm

http://www.biosman.com/amibeeps.pdf
  • 0

Advertisements


#26
chevvok

chevvok

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
hmm i never had a beep code in awhile but my PC just restarted a bunch of times again last night even with the case off.

here is some event errors..

System errors.

Event Type: Error
Event Source: Service Control Manager
Event Category: None
Event ID: 7001
Date: 7/1/2008
Time: 1:56:20 PM
User: N/A
Computer: SAIOKE-D1B1BA2F
Description:
The Remote Access Connection Manager service depends on the Telephony service which failed to start because of the following error:
The service cannot be started, either because it is disabled or because it has no enabled devices associated with it.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft....link/events.asp.

that is the only error i see in the system log. i mean theirs alot of the same error.

application log:

Event Type: Error
Event Source: Application Error
Event Category: (100)
Event ID: 1000
Date: 7/1/2008
Time: 1:02:18 AM
User: N/A
Computer: SAIOKE-D1B1BA2F
Description:
Faulting application drwtsn32.exe, version 5.1.2600.0, faulting module dbghelp.dll, version 5.1.2600.5512, fault address 0x0001295d.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft....link/events.asp.
Data:
0000: 41 70 70 6c 69 63 61 74 Applicat
0008: 69 6f 6e 20 46 61 69 6c ion Fail
0010: 75 72 65 20 20 64 72 77 ure drw
0018: 74 73 6e 33 32 2e 65 78 tsn32.ex
0020: 65 20 35 2e 31 2e 32 36 e 5.1.26
0028: 30 30 2e 30 20 69 6e 20 00.0 in
0030: 64 62 67 68 65 6c 70 2e dbghelp.
0038: 64 6c 6c 20 35 2e 31 2e dll 5.1.
0040: 32 36 30 30 2e 35 35 31 2600.551
0048: 32 20 61 74 20 6f 66 66 2 at off
0050: 73 65 74 20 30 30 30 31 set 0001
0058: 32 39 35 64 295d


Event Type: Error
Event Source: Application Error
Event Category: None
Event ID: 1000
Date: 7/1/2008
Time: 1:02:13 AM
User: N/A
Computer: SAIOKE-D1B1BA2F
Description:
Faulting application explorer.exe, version 6.0.2900.5512, faulting module msvcrt.dll, version 7.0.2600.5512, fault address 0x00037fd4.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft....link/events.asp.
Data:
0000: 41 70 70 6c 69 63 61 74 Applicat
0008: 69 6f 6e 20 46 61 69 6c ion Fail
0010: 75 72 65 20 20 65 78 70 ure exp
0018: 6c 6f 72 65 72 2e 65 78 lorer.ex
0020: 65 20 36 2e 30 2e 32 39 e 6.0.29
0028: 30 30 2e 35 35 31 32 20 00.5512
0030: 69 6e 20 6d 73 76 63 72 in msvcr
0038: 74 2e 64 6c 6c 20 37 2e t.dll 7.
0040: 30 2e 32 36 30 30 2e 35 0.2600.5
0048: 35 31 32 20 61 74 20 6f 512 at o
0050: 66 66 73 65 74 20 30 30 ffset 00
0058: 30 33 37 66 64 34 0d 0a 037fd4..

Event Type: Warning
Event Source: Userenv
Event Category: None
Event ID: 1517
Date: 6/28/2008
Time: 12:38:33 PM
User: NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM
Computer: SAIOKE-D1B1BA2F
Description:
Windows saved user SAIOKE-D1B1BA2F\josh registry while an application or service was still using the registry during log off. The memory used by the user's registry has not been freed. The registry will be unloaded when it is no longer in use.

This is often caused by services running as a user account, try configuring the services to run in either the LocalService or NetworkService account.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft....link/events.asp.

here is some errors when playing the game oblivion:

Event Type: Error
Event Source: Application Error
Event Category: None
Event ID: 1000
Date: 6/27/2008
Time: 11:36:05 PM
User: N/A
Computer: SAIOKE-D1B1BA2F
Description:
Faulting application oblivion.exe, version 1.2.0.416, faulting module oblivion.exe, version 1.2.0.416, fault address 0x000c9a80.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft....link/events.asp.
Data:
0000: 41 70 70 6c 69 63 61 74 Applicat
0008: 69 6f 6e 20 46 61 69 6c ion Fail
0010: 75 72 65 20 20 6f 62 6c ure obl
0018: 69 76 69 6f 6e 2e 65 78 ivion.ex
0020: 65 20 31 2e 32 2e 30 2e e 1.2.0.
0028: 34 31 36 20 69 6e 20 6f 416 in o
0030: 62 6c 69 76 69 6f 6e 2e blivion.
0038: 65 78 65 20 31 2e 32 2e exe 1.2.
0040: 30 2e 34 31 36 20 61 74 0.416 at
0048: 20 6f 66 66 73 65 74 20 offset
0050: 30 30 30 63 39 61 38 30 000c9a80
0058: 0d 0a ..

there is a whole lot more errors but i dont want to post them all. is their a easier way?

im not sure what it could be. i emailed dell and they told me 5300 pc2 ram is compatible with my system...

i believe it could be the power supply. i mean its the same cheapo power supply that came with the system. its a 305 watt power supply but i have a pentium 4 3.0GHz with hyperthreading enabled, 1.5gb ram, geforce 7600GT ddr3, a dvd drive, one sata and one IDE hard drive. do you think this is enough power to run all this stuff? like i said i do not know how much volts this power supply puts out.

i may just go ahead and buy a 600 watt power supply with 12v rails for 20 some bucks but i have to make sure it could be the power supply... just in case, what do you guys think about this power supply?

http://www.ebuyer.com/product/119227

Edited by chevvok, 01 July 2008 - 02:47 PM.

  • 0

#27
Artellos

Artellos

    Tech Secretary

  • Global Moderator
  • 3,888 posts
Hello again chevvok,

No beep code indicates (this is if you are sure the little speaker in the PC is working correctly) the following:
  • Short, No Power.
  • Bad CPU/MB
  • Loose Peripherals

That power supply looks OK to me.

Regards,
Olrik
  • 0

#28
chevvok

chevvok

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
thanks for the help. ill go ahead and buy the power supply and see if it helps. i know the CPU isnt bad so it has to be either the PSU or motherboard. if i look at the facts though my PC works fine sometimes and other times it dont. it could be that my PSU isnt putting out enough power.

edit: i just noticed that this site is for UK only so i cant order that PSU :). could anyone recommend one?

Edited by chevvok, 01 July 2008 - 07:42 PM.

  • 0

#29
chevvok

chevvok

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
okay, i ordered a power supply from newegg.com and should be here within 3 days but what im worried about is that alot of people say "dells psu are wired differently than others". should i worry or will the psu still work?

heres a link to the new power supply:

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16817148027
  • 0

#30
Artellos

Artellos

    Tech Secretary

  • Global Moderator
  • 3,888 posts
I'm not the biggest geek with hardware, though I think (And please don't pin me on this one) that all PSUs are about the same and it should work.
I will PM someone that knows more about this and see if I can get a second opinion in here.

Regards,
Olrik
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP