Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Help picking out a version of Linux.

• Please log in to reply

Jimmy2012

Jimmy2012

Trusted Helper

• Retired Staff
  • 6,238 posts
Hello,
I would like to install Linux on my PC, but have a few questions before trying to install it. What version of Linux should I try? I am looking for one that is easy to install and easy to use for a new person just using Linux, also work on this older computer?
By the way I have never used any Linux before so sorry for any dumb questions. :)

Here are the basic system specs (if you need any other info please let me know).
Windows ME
Processor: Intel 666MHz
Memory 64MB RAM
And the hard drive is 20 GB, free space 17.4 GB

I will most likely clear out the Hard Drive and just install Linux on that, unless anyone would think it would be better to keep windows ME and dual boot it?

This is just a older computer I got so I thought I would give Linux a go and see how it is.

Thanks for any help :)

Edited by Jimmy2012, 29 June 2008 - 12:40 AM.

Advertisements

silverbeard

silverbeard

Trusted Tech

• PipPipPip
  • 791 posts
you could try "Tinyme PClinux" but with 64MB of Ram it might be a bit slow.

AntiX Mepis might work better though the Flux box interface is not quite Windows but nice.

Kemasa

Kemasa

Nobody

• Technician
  • 1,727 posts